SECTION 9

9. **REGULATORY COMMITTEES**

9.1 **Regulatory and Other Committees**

The Council will appoint the Committees to discharge the functions set out in **Section 14** of this Constitution.

9.2 The Governance and Audit Committee

- 9.2.1 The Council will appoint a Governance and Audit Committee to discharge the functions described in **Section 14** of this Constitution and in accordance with Sections 81-87 of the Measure.
- 9.2.2 The Committee shall comprise of six Councillors and three lay members.
- 9.2.3 The Chair of the Governance and Audit Committee is appointed by the Committee and must be a lay member.
- 9.2.4 The Vice-Chair of the Governance and Audit Committee is appointed by it and must not be a member of the Cabinet or an assistant to the Cabinet.
- 9.2.5 If both the Chair and the Vice-Chair of the Governance and Audit Committee are absent, the Committee may appoint a member of the of the Committee who is not a member of the Council's Cabinet, or an assistant to the Cabinet, to chair the meeting.
- 9.2.6 Members of the Governance and Audit Committee may vote on any matter from the Committee.

9.3 **The Democratic Services Committee**

- 9.3.1 The Council will appoint a Democratic Services Committee to discharge the functions described in **Section 14** of this Constitution.
- 9.3.2 The Committee shall comprise of Councillor Members but no more than one Member of the Cabinet (which Cabinet Member must not be the Leader(s)).
- 9.3.3 The Chair of the Democratic Services Committee is appointed by Full Council and must not be the Cabinet Member.

9.4 Other Committees and Sub-Committees

9.4.1 The Council will appoint such other Committees as it considers appropriate to the exercise of its functions. These will include a Planning Committee, a Statutory Licensing Committee and a Public Protection Licensing Committee.

- 9.4.2 Any Committee appointed by the Council may at any time appoint additional sub-committees and panels throughout the year. The terms of reference and delegation of powers to them shall be explicit and within the appointment Committee's terms of reference.
- 9.4.3 The Size and Composition of Local Planning Authorities Committees (Wales) Regulations 2017 require Local Authority Planning Committees in Wales to be structured and operated in accordance with the following requirements:
 - The Planning Committee must contain no fewer than 11 Members and no more than 21 Members, but no more than 50% of the Authority Members (rounded up to the nearest whole number).
 - Where Wards have more than one Elected Member, only one Member may sit on the Planning Committee, in order to allow other Ward Members to perform the representative role for local community interests.

Whilst the second bullet point above does not apply to a Local Authority that comprises solely of multiple Member Wards (due to the need to maintain political balance on the Committee), the Vale of Glamorgan Council is one of the Councils to which both of the above provisions do apply.

In addition to the above, the Local Authorities (Standing Orders) (Wales) (Amendment) Regulations 2017 provide that:

- Each meeting of the Planning Committee must have a quorum of 50% to make decisions.
- The use of substitute Members is prohibited.

9.5 **Rules of Procedure and Debate**

The Council Procedure Rules in **Section 4** will apply.